Are you making the most of your College Alumni connections?

Hiring managers are bombarded with resumes for every job post.  It’s easy to get lost in this noise.  When I began my job search, I applied to many suitable positions that I found via job sites like InDeed.com.  Not a single response.  With so many folks out of work, you need to take a different approach than the on line application process.  That’s right, you must have an inside connection to get in the door.  My two favorite sources of inside connection are Linkedin and my college Alumni MBA Career Center.  My career center has an excellent alumni directory that is searchable by company name, etc.  Find a company you are interested in, plug the company name into directory, and see what names/titles come up.  The next step is to send an introductory e-mail requesting a twenty minute informational coffee.  This works!  Give it a try and let me know how it works for you.

Leave a Reply

